Author   Comment  
Terry M

Reply with quote  #1 
DSCN0835.JPG

Attached Images
Click image for larger version - Name: DSCN0853.JPG, Views: 89, Size: 2.79 MB  Click image for larger version - Name: DSCN0848.JPG, Views: 88, Size: 2.61 MB  Click image for larger version - Name: DSCN0846.JPG, Views: 76, Size: 2.57 MB  Click image for larger version - Name: DSCN0835.JPG, Views: 57, Size: 2.63 MB 

xihunter

Reply with quote  #2 
What a beautiful paint job!
Wooddawg

Reply with quote  #3 
They are beautiful. Thanks for sharing. My daughter has a 6 month old son and has asked me to build her/him a rocking horse and I am studying the 1890 plans. I do hope mine comes close to the quality of your build. Never done anything of this size.

Keep up the great work, you have a talent. Wooddawg
Stevenm01

Reply with quote  #4 
Wow, those are gorgeous!  Lucky kids.   What did you use for the tail?  Very nice, I'll bet the kids all have to touch it!
  Steve

Owner, ToymakingPlans.com
Reply with quote  #5 
Hi Terry, Welcome to the Forum! I agree with the others, WOW! You did a super job. I love the natural wood next to the painted wood. Are you planning on selling these or giving them away? Your photos are terrific. Thank you for posting.
Terry M

Reply with quote  #6 
Hi Steve

The horses tail is made from real horses tail and held in place by a dowel.  The dowel is grooved in the front to allow the hair to be wrapped around it and then the back top of the dowel is shaved off just enough to allow a tight fit.  I think it did a pretty good job, giving it a nice natural looking arch.
Terry M

Reply with quote  #7