Author   Comment  
Smiling Daisy Crafts

Reply with quote  #1 
I am just learning to use the scroll saw.  I bought John Nelson's scroll saw workbook.  I went to Home Depot and bought a couple 1 x 6 pine boards.  The first lesson has lines that I needed to cut: straight, curved, angled, etc.  The book said that I should not push the wood but just guide it.  I also did the 2nd lesson (cutting out a cat) and the 3rd lesson (cutting out a fish).  I am a little frustrated because I feel that I do have to push the wood not just guide it.  It is a new blade so it can't be that the blade is dull.  I'm not sure how to set the tension or what speed is best to use.  Will those 2 things cause it to be more difficult to cut the wood.  Could it be the type of pine boards I bought?  Since I am new to using a scroll saw, is their a better type of wood for me to learn on?
Udie

Reply with quote  #2 
Hello Smiling Daisy Crafts - Let's see if I can help you.
Well you sure asked a loaded question.
There is not only one answer, but let me give you a few ideas to think about.
Blade tension - the blade should flex no more than 1/8" or less side-to-side, forwards and backwards.
When you ping it you should hear the musical note "High-C'.
You really should not have to push hard on the blade when feeding wood.
Plywood will wear out a blade faster than solid wood.
You selection of Pine is a good choice, try not to place your pattern in knot areas, they are extremely hard to cut thru even for an experienced scroll sawer.
How long does a blade last - depends on blade/size, material you a cutting, speed and force exerted. To many variables ... but usually a new blade will last about 30 minutes of continuous cutting. Scroll saw people like to buy their blades in bulk pack, 144 blades, it is a lot cheaper that way, and you can probably mix and match blade numbers. Buying locally in small packs is much more expensive.