Author   Comment  
sjc5454

Reply with quote  #1 
Udie, I have read many times that you have coarse and a fine brush for painting. I am using a variety of brush sizes to try and duplicate this, but still have brush marks showing. This is my first attempt at hand painting, I made a big mistake in glueing it first, then deciding to paint the toy. The paint job shows my unsteady hand in a few tight spots, but the boys are happy with it.

I am trying to decide where I messed up, the paint, not enough sanding between coats, poor brushes, or a combination of everything. I want to get this right before I try to paint toys to sell. Here's a couple of photos of this little plane I made to practice on.

CAM00276small.jpg  CAM00277small.jpg  CAM00278small.jpg  CAM00277small.jpg 

CAM00280small.jpg  CAM00281small.jpg  CAM00282small.jpg 

Please excuse the poor workmanship, it is a prototype of a picture I saw online. Anyway, any words of wisdom about how to get a smoother looking finish would be welcome. It feels great after the lacquer and Cynthia's Beeswax, but does not look as nice as I have seen in many other's finished toys.

Steve Currier

Udie

Reply with quote  #2 
Steve (sjc5454) - No need to apologize for your workmanship - it looks great. I tried zooming in on your photos to determine if you are really experiencing brush strokes or are you seeing the grain of the wood. Most craft paints do self-level very well and with sanding in-between coats with say a 320 grit will help eliminate that.  Matte craft paints do apply a little differently with visible brush strokes.