Author   Comment  
kstano83

Reply with quote  #1 
I got some maple wood that had black areas that looked like mold. Maybe. I though that will go away after planing completely but apparently it did not. Can anyone tell me what it is from the pictures attached? Is it ok to use as it is, or should I just  avoid just the darker bits?

IMG_20180506_182717.jpg  IMG_20180506_182726.jpg  IMG_20180506_182735.jpg

Rod T

Reply with quote  #2 
I am no expert, but is this called Spalting?
I don't know if the affected area is more toxic than timber without it, but spalted timber is highly prized for it's different colours decorative effect etc. 

I'm not much help here, does someone else have any idea?

Cheers
Rod T

harry

Reply with quote  #3 
Definitely salting, as for toxicity, I am unsure.The spalted areas should be softer than the rest of the wood
Butch504

Reply with quote  #4 
I worked in a lumber mill and a logyard. We called this blue stain. Mostly from being out in he weather. It should not hurt anything. Hope this helps.
Cometoz

Reply with quote  #5 
Definitely "Spalting" - it polishes up nicely and creates a nice feature.

BadBob

Reply with quote  #6 

Some handy tips for making, handling, and machining spalted wood:

1. Protect: I can’t over state this.  You must wear a dust mask and use an air filter.  Why take chances?
  2. Keep it sealed: While spalting in your bathroom works well, make sure the wood is in a plastic tub or plastic bag that is sealed.  It shouldn’t be air tight, but it should restrict air flow.  The less air flow you have, the fewer spores are being circulated.  Also, sealed containers will help cut down on that rotting wood smell.
  3. Double up: on protection when sanding spalted wood.  That dust isn’t just wood, its also fungi.  Make sure you are wearing goggles when you are reducing spalted wood into particulate.  I wear goggles when sanding even clear wood, because I’m not a big fan of wood in my eyes.