Author   Comment   Page 1 of 3      1   2   3   Next
kstano83

Reply with quote  #1 
I'm new to the whole toy making and scroll sawing and instead of buying a scroll saw, I would like to make myself one. Well, if that would work. Would it? Like this...

Daniel L Abbink

Reply with quote  #2 
Check out UTUBE  or pintrest I saw a home scroll somewhere good luck.

Reply with quote  #3 
Sure you can make one. It's not cost effective unless you happen to have all the stuff you need just laying around. A suitable motor will cost $75 or more. That alone is more than many of the low end saws sell for. Good quality plywood isn't cheap you could spend another $75 for that. The bits and pieces of hardware might cost you another $50. When you finished you might have a saw that was on par with one you could buy used for $50. Remember that time is money. I figure labor cost for me would be at least $250. 

Where I live there are scroll saws for sale for $50 on a regular basis. On a not so regular basis there are better quality ones. A few years ago I bought an RBI Hawk for $100 it needed a bit of help to get it going but the total cost was about $150 for a quality older saw. I can see where building your own might cost more that this and surely not cut as well. 

Weigh all your options carefully is all I'm saying.

Pinterest
Blogger
Forum Photo Album

LinkedIn
YouTube
Google Photos Toys Album

kstano83

Reply with quote  #4 
OK, I see I did not express myself properly. As a motor, I could use a power drill or a jig saw. As I constantly build stuff, I have plenty of scrap wood that I could use so my extra expenses would probably be in some screws and a spring. What I was more curious about was whether such a diy scroll saw can handle making wooden toys easily. 
BadBob

Reply with quote  #5 
Quote:
Originally Posted by kstano83