Author   Comment  
Rosiejane

Reply with quote  #1 
Just finished the Easy Basics truck. It's made from offcuts of pine I had on hand. Tray is MDF. I used a sample pot of ordinary paint for the green and the grey was just ordinary craft paint with a bit of black added to make it darker. I didn't use a primer so it took a couple of extra coats. 2 coats of satin varnish (I didn't have any gloss on hand). Sanded between coats. Finished with beeswax/coconut oil.

This is the first time I've cut anything this thick on the scrollsaw. I started by using a Olsen pinned 12tpi skip reverse but I found that it kept on binding, even though I was going really slow. I switched to a pinless #9 PGT and got much better results (I would have used a #12 if I had one on hand) I'm not very good at cutting to the line. I tend to wander a bit. I'm a bit wary of some of the turns because the pinless blades tend to pop out of their holder rather easily.

I found that the underside was slightly misaligned with the topside but I was able to correct it using a drum sander mounted in the drill press. I'll have to check that the table is definately square to the blade next time (I hope that is the problem, otherwise I have no idea why it's happening. It may also be why the bigger blade kept binding) I'm also thinking that the flatbed tray looks slightly too wide. I think I'll adjust it for the next one. Working on the tractor now.

2016-05-06 13.30.10.jpg

Owner, ToymakingPlans.com
Reply with quote  #2 
Rosiejane, this is a perfectly presented post and what we all like to see on the forum. Your clear and concise explanation of the wood toy truck project is fun to read. And what is more important, we all learned something useful about toymaking!