Author   Comment  
Atheneum

Reply with quote  #1 
Hello all,

I am new to woodworking within the last year, and teaching myself. I stumbled on this site and am very excited to start building toys. Although I lack many of the tools that would make some of these eaiser I took a crack at a play pal using a little dove tail saw, a palm sander, and a jig saw. With help from my 2.5 year old daughter this is what we ended up with.

I have borrowed a scroll saw and hope to start another play pal version tonight especially since little hands wont be helping me lol.

Attached Images
Click image for larger version - Name: 20180903_180433.jpg, Views: 55, Size: 1.78 MB  Click image for larger version - Name: 20180903_180419.jpg, Views: 50, Size: 1.75 MB  Click image for larger version - Name: 20180903_163104.jpg, Views: 46, Size: 1.61 MB 

Frogbucket

Reply with quote  #2 
Hi Atheneum.
Welcome to this site and it's wonderful forum and congratulations on your first build I think it looks really good.
I too am fairly new to this hobby, just about 2 years now, and I have bought budget tools and self taught myself. I too have made these playpals and the free Mercedes Truck is absolutely brilliant for a beginner and it's very adaptable as well, see my posts.....
I will look forward to seeing more of your work in the future.
Dave
eburk

Reply with quote  #3 
Atheneum, Your play pal looks great. Although I have been on the forum for some time, I had not made any of the toys until this past July. I just recently have started making the playpals and love it. I have a great collection of plans from John and Cynthia that I am ready to start getting serious about making. Kind of like the quilter that buys fabric but never quilts anything. 

Glad you are here, and glad to see your work.

Reply with quote  #4