Author   Comment  
brian121599

Reply with quote  #1 
So I am completely new to woodworking outside of square framing.  With a new baby boy on the way I figured I would give a try to making him some toy cars.  Found this site, downloaded some plans, bought a scroll saw, and went to cutting!  So much fun!  I have a lot to figure out and learn but really enjoy building these toys!  Now, to figure out blades....

Here are a couple of the projects I have completed so far.  Finished with mineral oil/beeswax paste I made after watching the video.

IMG_3023.jpg IMG_5317.jpg IMG_6441.jpg IMG_6462.jpg 

Udie

Reply with quote  #2 
brian121599 - Excellent work my friend, your Play Pals and the Martin Car Carrier look outstanding. Glad you are enjoying your new scroll saw. New son on the way - congratulations! There are just so many things you are going to make now that you have the woodworking bug. Thanks for joining our Forum and posting.
Udie

Reply with quote  #3 
brian121599 - Here are a couple of links on this web site which may be of interest to you.
Scroll Saw Questions and Answers and Scroll Saw Blades.
Ken Martin

Reply with quote  #4 
Wow Brian
Welcome to the Forum.
You look like a natural cutter with the Scroll Saw, good work.  
   I like the Olsen PGB blades the best, because they are not stamped out, so they cut better and are easier to keep on the line.  I like to buy the #5 and #9's, and I buy them by the gross.  I usually do not buy #7's because there is hardly any difference between the #5 and a #7.  I also use a lot of the Olsen #.02 blades for really fine work, and the #02 for thin work up to 1/2"
   I use some of the Flying Dutchman blades as well.  I like their Biggest blade they call "The Blade That Could", it is like cutting with a jig saw.

pdaunno

Reply with quote  #5