Author   Comment  
Willem

Reply with quote  #1 
No1.jpg 

When this plan came out I bought it and make it. That was a loooooong time ago.
No 2.jpg 

Two weeks ago I decided to build another one but using different colours of wood and not painting it. I also wanted to add a little bit more to it. I don't see this as a toy or a model but rather than a mantelpiece or a conversation piece. It is like an inbetweener. J

This is the outcome:
No 3.jpg  No 4.jpg 
No 5.jpg  No 6.jpg  No 7.jpg  No 8.jpg 

Here are some of the changes that I made and features that I incorporated into this build.

Engine:

I am not a mechanic at all but decided to modify the engine a little bit by putting on a carburettor and an air cleaner. I also use some dowels to make sparkplugs and decided to put a fan on the front.
No 9.jpg 

Radiator:

I get hold of a piece a mesh that are used in front of a car speaker and cut it to the size that I want to fit into the radiator. I use double-sided tape and line the mesh up so that it is in the middle of the piece to be inserted. Then I use a drill the size of the holes in the mesh and drill the holes. I take the mesh off and sand the front and back of the insert. The insert is sunken 6mm (1/4") from the front of the radiator.
No 10.jpg 

Roof:

I wanted the roof to be closed at the back. I took the original drawing and widen it by 6mm (1/4") at the back side. (A). By doing this the back piece will rest on the middle of the backseat. The curve at point (B) I get by trial and error and eventually I get to the point where I was satisfied. Then I cut out the sides and lay one piece on the wood that I was going to use for the top of the roof and trace it accordingly. (Remember the top will also be longer now.)
No 11.jpg  No 12.jpg 

I came across this picture and decide to incorporate some of this features into my build.
No 13.jpg 

Mirrors:

I add the mirrors, inside and outside to the hot rod.
No 14.jpg 

Seats: