Author   Comment  
munawar

Reply with quote  #1 
Hello everybody, 

I am totally new to toy making in as much as I haven't made one yet.   I do big projects or turning projects so far.  I really really want to make toys but have no clue what jigs and fixtures I need to cut and sand small parts safely and accurately.  I got couple of plans from our host, but haven't built up nerves to tackle them yet.  Toy parts  need to be a lot more accurate than big cabinets.  I'd appreciate any tips, suggestions, pictures or videos of the jigs and fixtures and all.   One pressing question is how do I plane small parts to get to right thickness.  Contrary to other places my area home centers do not carry right thickness stock that shown in project plans.

Thanks
Manny

ed357sw

Reply with quote  #2 
Hello Munawar,

For my part I just use what ever scraps I have from other projects. Most of the toy's are built for serious playing so you don't have a huge amount of detail on them as a general rule. All of the plans from toymakingplans are not etched in stone. There is a good deal of fudge factor for you to use your own ideas.
Now if your building toy's for display then that's where you get into the more precise cutting and shaping.

If you look through this section alone there is a wealth of information just in the part. I have learned so much from the folks here. If it where me i would get the free plans John has listed here and know them out using scraps  and just see where it takes you. It sounds like you already do bigger stuff and turning so you should feel right at home.
If you make your own wheels there are a couple of sections here that show some jigs for that after using a hole saw to knock out the size you want then sanding down to shape and final size.
Jump in and show us your toy's we all like to see lots of pictures and learn from each other (although it more me learning from the other folk's here LOL )