Author   Comment  
flamepainter

Reply with quote  #1 
32 Ford Sedan (4).jpg 

Painting Flames on Model and Toy Cars

I am going to attempt to explain how I painted flames on the Hot Rod Deuce Coupe Freaky Ford I posted in the toymakingplans.com forum. The process is the same no matter what size or body style is used. I sometimes tend to get a little wordy with my explanations. I hope it doesn’t distract from the main objective.

I have been painting flames on Plastic car models for over 20 years. I have an example shown below on a 1/25th scale plastic model. Once I got the technique down, it was just a matter of drawing what I want and transferring it onto the model. Sounds simple, right?

At the bottom of this article I have attached a PDF file to this post for anyone who would like to copy it to their computer for reference.
   '39 Chev coupe UL flash.jpg              I always make sure the model is finished painted and as smooth as possible before starting. I usually have a clear coat over the finished color the flames will be going over. This is so the contact paper will stick to it better, preventing paint from getting under the contact paper.
102_1037.jpg  102_1038.jpg  When I start a flame project on a model, the very first thing I do is draw two outlines of the model on a piece of paper (one outline for each right and left sides). These can be just opposite sides of the same drawing as I have shown here

Toymakingplans.com has made this step a little easier because you already have the outline at the proper size in the plans, all you have to do is print another copy to draw on. From that you know what size to make the flames and how you can fit them in the space you have. I have drawn in where the tires will be for reference.