Author   Comment  
AES

Reply with quote  #1 

I hope this is in the right place for this post - if not, Moderators please move.

Hullo everyone, my name’s Andy (“AES”), I’m an expat Brit living in Switzerland. A couple of months ago I passed the “big seven-oh” milestone and as I’d just decided to finally retire from being a free-lance aircraft engineer, my better half bought me an Excalibur Ex 21 to celebrate. (NICE lady!)

Over the last few years I’ve been slowly but surely setting up a small shop in the cellar at home and with that new scroll saw I’m now just about fully equipped apart from a table saw for which I have no space (though I’m thinking of converting a small Makita hand-held circular saw to cover that lack).

I much enjoyed woodwork back in dim & distant school days but I’m not much of a woodworker really (going up a VERY steep learning curve!), but having a technical background plus the benefit of a decent engineering apprenticeship does help – even though none of the aeroplanes I’ve ever worked on were made of wood!

I play about with both metal and wood and joined a UK-based Forum which is primarily for woodworkers a couple of years ago. I’ve learnt a huge amount from that Forum and as I’m interested in toy making I followed a tip from a member there which led me to this group. I’ve spent some time looking at past posts before making this first post and I’m sure I’ll learn a lot here.

I don’t really see myself setting up to do “production runs” of particular toys, but I do take a point from one of the previous posts that building 2 (or even 3) of a particular toy can actually speed things up as compared to making just a 1 off. We’ll see how I go with that, and I’ve already down loaded the free Mercedes tipper truck plan and bought the Mega Wrecker plan, both very attractive looking toys in my view.