Author   Comment  
KenFM

Reply with quote  #1 
Since I started making wooden toys I have been bothered by the final finishing. I have used lacquer out of a spray can (found this expensive and poor control) I have used French Polish ( problem getting into the small gaps) I have used conventional spray equipment (air driven compressor ) waxes and so on and so on.
Today I purchased the WAGNER Flexio 687E HVLP spray equipment at a cost of £118. It comes with 2 spray guns 1 for home decorating (emulsions etc have not told the wife yet!!!) and the second has a small cup gun for coating materials such as water-and solvent paints, primers, lacquers.
   I have been using very expensive HVLP equipment for many years and could not justify to spend in excess of £1,000 to get my desired finish.
I was apprehensive to test this equipment (will it be a waste of money or the answer to my finishing at an excellent price).
   Well the results just blew me away. After unpacking the turbine and gun I was impressed with the weight and how easy it was to set up. I use water based gloss lacquer without any dilution. I decided to do my testing on MDF as this is what I use the most of. The control of the gun was fantastic so I put a fine missed of the lacquer as a primer then applied by brush 2 coats of water based colours and then applied a full coat of the lacquer using a small spray pattern. The results were outstanding.
   In conclusion I believe this equipment and the purchase of the lacquer by the gallon will pay for it's self over and over again.
Ken
Udie

Reply with quote  #2 
KenFM - That's great news about the Wagner and your results. I called a couple of our big box stores today and they were not familiar with the model number, so I guess it's not available in CANADA yet. 
  I did go to Wagner's web site and saw it there and a couple of other interesting ones also which offered interchangeable cups and sprayers.