Author   Comment  
AHMED

Reply with quote  #1 

Hi everyone ,

I am Ahmed from EGYPT , I am an Aircraft engineer , i am willing to establish a small workshop to make wooden toys  ( cars , trucks , air-crafts..ect )

the models are supposed to be small and medium ( from 5 to 12 inch ) and it should not contain to much details

I just need to know what ( type , model , dimension ) of the ( scroll saw , the band saw , the sander , drill press and also the recommended dimension of the blades used )

I know that these details may vary from user to another but i just need your recommendations

thanks allot in advance for your help [smile]

Bucko

Reply with quote  #2 
If I remember right a good while back John was setting up such a shop to show how items of which you mentioned could be made. Maybe there’s a past thread on that Shop setup ?
Peter V

Reply with quote  #3 

Hello Ahmed,

welcome to the CLUB.

In my opinion, there are some more things to consider, such as:

- are the toys meant to be played with

- do you want to make those toys as ´production´ 

If that is the case, you should look for more professional equipment (as example: Hegner scrollsaw) but these are expensive. On the other hand, when you have (a lot or more) time to saw, a less ´accurate´ scrollsaw will do the job also, but you have to be (much) more patient.

A drillpres with lasercross, such as a Bosch PDB40 (which I have since recently) is a very good piece of equipment. But on the old drillpress, it worked also, but, as I said, with greater changes on mistakes (speccially with drilling axle holes).

Furhtermore it is also a ´building up´and ´growing into´ development. 

Personally I would not go for the cheapest items but also, certainly not start with the most expensive ones.   

If you have more questions, do ask.  

Peter V
AHMED

Reply with quote  #4 
Hi everyone
Thanks for all of you for your advice and your recommendations

I just have one more question