Author   Comment  
Luther P

Reply with quote  #1 
Just curious I see all over the Internet and been to many woodworking shows. I see Master Toymaker is being used. How does one earn that title? Do they go to school, do they earn it by word of mouth, or is it just a title one gives himself.

Just wondering because I've been doing woodworking for 30 years. I feel I'm pretty good at woodworking in general, but love makeing toys and am quite good at it. Even though i dont think i know everything im always learning as i go. There are always things to learn. I'm not asking this because I want a title I don't deserve,but I see some woodworkers use that title and I'm just curious.
cynthia lewman

Owner, ToymakingPlans.com
Reply with quote  #2 
Hi Luther P,

I'm sure others on the forum will weigh in on this topic too. I consider the title Master Toymaker to be an informal title that is used when complimenting someone's toymaking crafting skills, just the same way you might call a woodworker a "Master Craftsman". It's not a formal title and is used slightly loosely.

I'm sure others on the forum would agree with me that you too have rightly earned the title, "Master Toymaker".

Cynthia
Luther P

Reply with quote  #3 
Thank you for your input and compliment. I am hoping others on the Forum will put their input in also. I often wondered about the Master Toymaker title. Maybe someone on the forum that is using the title will share.
If you know someone who uses the title feel free to share this with them. I would love to hear their feedback.

BadBob

Reply with quote  #4 
I'm pretty sure it's a made-up title. Possibly as a marketing ploy or a reporter trying to make something sound better than it is.  But then that's marketing, isn't it? As far as I know, there is no certification exam for toy-making.