Author   Comment  
Jodywright

Reply with quote  #1 

Remember, I am just a beginner, and I am sure that the more experienced woodworkers in this site will be able to see all sorts of flaws in my methods.

1.  I have access through a friend to a band saw, but it does not have a fence and therefore I made Jig #1 to get a standard width on the wheels.  To do this, I butt the dowel against the jig which I have set for 3/8 of an inch from the blade.  If your band saw has a fence, you will not have to make this jig.

2.  For safety sake, and to make sure that the cuts are straight, I made Jig #2 which runs in the miter slot of the bandsaw.  The dowel is placed in the slot, butted against jig #1 for width, and then is advanced into the band saw to cut.  Take your time and let the saw do the work.

3.   You now want to put a hole in the middle for the axel.  Once again, I have a jig (#3).  This is made by cutting a shallow round the sizes of the wheels you might want to make using a Forstner bit or a Spade bit.  Using a regular bit the size of your axel, enlarge the hole in the center; you can drill it at least partially through your jig wood.  On your drill press, clamp the jig so that the drill is centered in the hole. Place the wheel into the jig hole and hold it with a pair of pliers; you really should keep your hands away from it as they will get burned if the wheel catches and turns in your fingers.  Now you really have a production line; drill out the axel hole, take out the wheel and then put the next one in.  Always a good idea to check now and then that your bit remains centered.

4. You now have a rough cut wheel which needs sanding.  I use the jig (#4) which, I believe, either Udie or Doc suggested to me and attaches to the side of my sander.  This sands the bottom of the wheel, and the flat sides are sanded on the top of the sander.