Author   Comment   Page 1 of 2      1   2   Next
Slimpickens

Reply with quote  #1 
Just decided I wanted to start woodworking. Want to start by making toys for my grandkids.  I’m a decent rough carpenter. Any and advice is welcome.  
kenneth smith

Toy Wizard at ToymakingPlans.com
Reply with quote  #2 
Welcome aboard. In this forum you will find lots of help and insights to get started.  Give us a list of tools you already have and go from there.  
Slimpickens

Reply with quote  #3 
I have an older scroll saw , table saw, jigsaw, a small router , skilsaw, compound saw, drills, some hand tools as well. 
kenneth smith

Reply with quote  #4 
You're already in better shape than most.  You should be about able to build almost anything. You could start with our free plans and go from there. 
Slimpickens

Reply with quote  #5 
I've downloaded and printed those. Any advice on what wood is better and easy on the budget
Grandpa Bear

Reply with quote  #6 
Hi there, I'm a relative newbie toymaker.

Just jump in and have a go. I started using ordinary pine avoiding any knots using a bandsaw plus a hand coping saw. It's not the easiest to use but it was cheap when I started out.

I now have a scroll saw and it's easier to cut, will move onto hardwoods as i become more skilled. There's lots of great toy builders with a wealth of knowledge and tips just waiting to be tapped into.

Most of all enjoy yourself. I hadn't done anything like this for about 40 years when I was at school. My grandson now has lots of handmade wooden toys from his Grandpa. I love making them and he loves quality testing them and he's not quite one year old yet.

The plans from John and Cynthia are very easy to follow, I made the Peterbilt Construction set recently and it was great fun to build and all of the cuts I did with a bandsaw. Take your time and take the plunge and let us all know how you get on with your builds,

regards Nick
kenneth smith

Reply with quote  #7