Author   Comment  
rdredge

Reply with quote  #1 
I am new to this too and about to make my first toy.  2 question - What kind of glue do you use?  and Do I put the beeswax and mineral oil coating over paint?  Thanks for all your help!!
Not sure I did this right so not sure where it is going to show up!!
rdredge

Reply with quote  #2 
Just starting out with a little toy car.
Udie

Reply with quote  #3 
rdredge - Welcome to the Forum.
Glue - Common glues used are PVA glues (polyvinyle acetate which are all non-toxic and water cleanup). Standard yellow carpenters glue, and a commercial brand name is Titebond. These glues all have excellent adhesion/bonding properties for partial board, MDF, plywood, Pine, Cedar, Poplar, Spruce etc. Titebond II is water resistant but not water proof and Titebond III is waterproof.
Some of our members prefer to use CA glues.

Yes, Cynthia's Non-Toxic Child Safe Mineral Oil with Bee's Wax can be applied directly to bare wood, as well as to any painted project using craft paints, spray paints and commercial can paints. You may apply the Bee's Wax finish after applying any varnish, polyurethane tops coats also. It gives your finish product a great feel as well as a nice smell.
Cynthia has a video which demonstrates how to make it and the results ... here is the link to the video found in the "Wood Toy Workshop" tab on the web site's home page.
How To Make Cynthia's Non-Toxic Bees Wax Wood Toy Finish.

Hope this info is helpful, feel free to ask questions at any time ... questions from members also helps other members.

In reference to your 2nd post - which car are you planning to make as your first project?
rdredge

Reply with quote  #4 
Just making  one from the free pattern I received when joining e mail list.  Thanks for your help! 
rdredge

Reply with quote  #5 
Another question.  Can I use Minwax stains instead of baking to darken?  Can I put beeswax paste over stain?  Thanks again.
Udie

Reply with quote  #6 
rdredge