Author   Comment  
Borg

Reply with quote  #1 
Hi everyone, i am new to scrolling and i think i have a problem cutting round corners, i say think as im not sure if this is normal or not.
When cutting, say im turning left, when im turning, the blade turns with the wood so the teeth of the blade instead of facing me are 90 degrees to me, which means i have to turn the wood even more, twisting the blade.
As far as i know i am not feeding the wood too fast, im taking my time, it happens regardless of wood thickness and type, although thin ply seems ok.
The blade tension i think is fine, they are unknown pinned type, im sorry i don't know about blade numbers yet so i don't know what they are, just some ones that were in a box given to me with the saw, a cheap cloned Chinese thing 16", you know the type..
Is this normal?
I would be grateful for any help / advice on this, of course if it is normal for blades to twist round with you then fine, im already sort of used to it, im not quite used to the fright you get with braking blades yet though [wink]
KenFM

Reply with quote  #2 
Borg
A number of things could be causing your problem
1. Do you have good tension on the blade. Flick it with your finger nail and if you get a high ping sound then the tension should be ok
2. If you are using a thick blade say number 10 - 12 and you are trying to do fine work then this will cause your problem.
3. For tight angles you should be using a lower number blade say 3-5 or even as low as number 1
Hope this is of help
Ken (kenFM) 
Borg

Reply with quote  #3 
Hi Ken, thanks for that, i was starting to think it was the saw but i tried it on my other saw and its the same, they are the only blades i have so i have nothing to compare them with, so when you are cutting, the teeth of the blade are always facing you even on curves ?
Udie

Reply with quote  #4 
Borg -