Author   Comment  
ctowne

Reply with quote  #1 
Hi All - First, you all are so great and give excellent tips.  I am not the best at painting but does anyone have tips on painting stripes or dots.  Specifically for little animals like a black and white cow or a zebra.  I have avoided this on some things by cutting the animal apart at the different animal colors.  I can't do it with a zebra or cow too many pieces.   I would guess you put the light color on first then the dark on top.  Does anyone have some helpful hints.
Cindy
pdaunno

Reply with quote  #2 
Great question Cindy. Typically a dark color will cover a light color better than the other way around. I'm a novice painter and look forward to the responses from those more experienced. In particular I'd like to know what the best tape to use for painting stripes. It would add a lot of character to the cars and trucks I'm working on now.

Reply with quote  #3 
Cindy and pdaunno - Great questions, let's see if my 2-cents helps.

Painting stripes ... Frog Tape (Yellow) - This special tape eliminates paint bleed under the tape that you would normally get when using common painter tape. Here are a couple links you can go on the Forum and this web side to see it in use and the results:
Top Gun Aircraft Carrier WTN and video.
Page 19 shows the tape and continues to page 21 to the results.
The article also discusses and demonstrates using Automotive self-adhesive Pin Strips on page 23.
Peterbilt Trailer - Udie's Progress
Here I demonstrate using Green Frog Tape.
Udie's Peterbilt Trailer Mod - Flavour #1 - Tanker Trailer
Here you can see the use of the Automotive Pin Strips at the beginning of the article and at the end.
Metallic Pin Stripes - finger nail decorating pin strips.
Trailers for Play Pals - How to Make 4 types
The attached PDF in this post shows the tapes used and results on page 12.

Dots
Member JohnKC demonstrates results using the opposite side of the paint brush to make dots.
Great for making eyes.