Author   Comment  
allend200

Reply with quote  #1 
I am new to toy making. I am having trouble spray painting evenly. Is there a brush on clear coat? I have polyurethane coating that I use for my wooden sail boat parts. Can that be used over acrylic paints?
Udie

Reply with quote  #2 
allend200
There are many craft paint top coat finishes you can apply by brush.
Indoor/outdoor, gloss, satin, matte and thick gloss.
All will provide a durable quality finish to your projects and all are compatible with acrylic paints.
   With respect to your question 'Can Polyurethane be applied to Acrylic Paint?'
The best thing to do is conduct a little experiment.
Paint a piece of wood using the different types and manufactures of the acrylic paints you use most often.
After allowing them to cure, apply your polyurethane and examine the results.
   You will quickly discover if there are any negative results, such as smearing, bubbling, etc.
Better to see what happens to you test piece rather than your completed project.
Hope this helps.
allend200

Reply with quote  #3 
Thank You.
I will try your tips
Ken Martin

Reply with quote  #4 
Good Answer Udie

In my limited experience I have been able to apply Polys, and clear coats over acrylic paints both brushed on and sprayed on.
   However, I would do as Udie suggested before you apply over a finished toy.
Sometimes I think the weather and/or humidity can affect the way paints affect each other.
   Tip:  The longer you can let a paint cure before you put on the finish coats of Poly or Clear Coat the better.  To know when a paint is completely cured you can smell it.  If you smell any paint smell the paint is not completely cured.  The odor or gas (whatever it is) escaping from the painted surface can get trapped under the finish coat and create a cloudy look or sometimes little bubbles.