Author   Comment  
woodspud1

Reply with quote  #1 
Hi everyone,
i am fairly new to toy making & wood painting in general,should i, or do i need to "prime" my wood project before doing finish coat.
any tips welcome,
Thanks.
Wombat

Reply with quote  #2 
Hello and welcome woodspud1.

The question you ask is akin to "how long is a piece of string".
May I respectfully suggest that you have a good long read of the posts in the category "Painting tips and Techniques"
There is a wealth of good information in there.

If you use craft style acrylic paints, these can go onto wood as is, without the need for a primer/undercoat. it may take a few coats to achieve a good solid look.
 If what you meant by primer is what is called undercoat, then sometimes, an appropriate undercoat , suitably sanded back, can ensure that you get a much better finish in your product, with fewer coats.

Primer + Undercoat+ topcoat is generally reserved for painting houses
Painting Toys is not the same type of job as house painting, so you will not need the ubiquitous "Pink Primer"

BadBob

Reply with quote  #3 

It depends on what you are going to use for a finish.

Some paint doesn't need any primer.

If you need to seal knots or some pitchy wood, yes, you need a primer-sealer.

I always seal MDF with shellac.

I have had wood that specific finishes would not cure properly on. They need a primer-sealer.

Shellac doesn't need a primer.

Polyurethane does not need primer, but you may need to seal the wood.

Craft acrylics may not need primer or sealer depending on the paint you are using and the color. For example, if you want a bright yellow, you need a white primer.

If you want a finish smooth or glossy, you should prime sand and prime again until it feels smooth to the touch.

Are you confused yet?

woodspud1

Reply with quote  #4 
Thanks Wombat,Yes it was undercoat i was thinking of,think i will try both ways "with & without" on some scraps.Thanks again for your time.woodspud1.
woodspud1