Author   Comment  
BobbyDe

Reply with quote  #1 

New Jersey Air National Guard Major General Donald J. Strait is who flew the P-51 “Jersey Jerk.”  He put his life on the line in forty + mission in the European Theater during World War II.  By 1945, wars end, the then, Major Donald J. Strait was credited with 13.5 German air to air combat kills.  The model plane in the four following pictures are a representation of this Airmen’s notorious plane.

I built this because I enjoy making sawdust.  I have for as long as I can remember.  I have ties to the USAF, my dad made it his career, and I graduated from High School at Clark Air Force Base in the Philippines in 1976.  For ten plus years I have worked with a relative of MG Strait, for most of that time, I did not know that my friend Danielle Strait has such an honorable Grandfather.  After one day being educated on this fact, I read historical pieces and an interview prior to his death.  It was then, almost a year ago, I decided to build the “Jersey Jerk.”

This has been a process.  The INet has many pictures of this notorious plane, many plans for building P-51s.  After some thought, I tried a few “toy” plans, deciding to, purchase and build, ToyMakingPlans.com, “WWII Famous Fighters” and “Famous Fighters” patterns.  My final product, pictured here, is a derivative of those patterns.  The decals are homemade based on an INet picture of Maj Strait and his P-51 in 1945.